Free Writing

A Public Apology

15 days ago I made a commitment to write every day. I had planned to use writing prompts and the like to write at least 500 or so words to practice my writing skills. I was going to publish them in this blog as a sort-of journal in order to hold myself to that commitment.

The problem I’m running up against is that I’m also working on my novel. Obviously I can’t post the work I’ve done on my novel here in this blog. Well, I suppose I could, but it changes with every edit I make to it, so really the only thing you’d see is the same general story that changes the way it’s told each time and after a while that would just get really old.

So forgive me if I skip a few days (and at the rate I’m going, maybe even a few weeks) between posts. I find it incredibly hard to break off from the obsessive thoughts about my novel to write from a prompt just for the sake of writing. Yes, yes, I know it may spark creativity and possibly even ideas I can use for my novel or subsequent novels, but right now I’m at the rough draft stage where I need to write out the story that’s playing over and over in my mind. Once my rough draft is done and I go in and start ruthlessly editing and changing things, I may throw in a piece of inspiration here and there. I don’t know, I’ve never done this before.

So consider this an apology (more to myself than anyone else) for not -publicly- sticking to my commitment. I will say that as of right now I’m at 5,879 words, so even at 500 words a day (plus 3 writing prompts I did already post)….lets see that’s…..carry the 9 and divide by 4…….. well, let’s just say that at 500 words a day over 15 days -11 actually since we’re not including weekends- I’m well beyond what I’d originally committed to. And yes, I did just say that to make myself feel better.

If you’ve read this far through my early morning ramblings, then I applaud you…..and thank you for sticking with me. I’m new at this, so consider this blog the journey of a first time novelist. Wait, can I call myself that? Oh hell, I don’t know. I’m new at this okay? Cut me some slack.

writers-untold-story

Standard

Leave a Reply

