Free Writing

Camp NaNoWriMo

Now that I’m a healthy start into the second chapter of my book, I decided to sign up for Camp NaNoWriMo!

My goal is 50,000 words, and I’m going to play it honest and NOT include the 8,001 words that I already have.

I’m actually pretty excited, and anxious. I’m going to give it an honest attempt, which means I may be spending a lot of time at my local Starbucks just to get away from all the distractions at home. So for now I’m on a writing hiatus to give myself a fresh start on April 1st.

Just a small update on my novel: I’ve been having hubby help me with tweaking story ideas here and there, but this past weekend I let my two teenage sons read through what I have so far (about a chapter and a half) and they demanded that I finish it so they can read the rest. That made me feel really good! I also gave the first chapter to my mother so she can go through it with a fine tooth comb and find any spelling and grammar mistakes. My mother, who is not a fan of the Fantasy genre said that it actually pulled her in and she wanted to read more. Talk about an ego boost!

Since then I’ve been fleshing out some more details on certain events and the more I flesh out, the better it looks in my mind. Every day I get more excited about doing this.

In the meantime, I created the book cover for my novel and I’m going to share it with you. It was made with royalty free images that I worked some Photoshop magic on. My mother told me she loved it – and she’s hard to impress (she also is not one to blow sunshine up my skirt for the sake of making me happy, so I value her opinion).

Anyone who reads this blog is more than welcome to share their opinion as well – bad or good!

SoulWeaverBookCoverMedium

 

 

Standard

One thought on “Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. Pingback: Hiatus… | FanFiction Fridays

Leave a Reply

