Free Writing

Camp NaNoWriMo Day 1 – 3,121 words

I can’t guarantee I’ll post a status update every day (I’m sure people would get tired of it anyway), but I wanted to share it today because I’m quite proud of myself. For anyone who would like to follow along with my progress you can check out my Camp NaNoWriMo stats here.

3,121 words is nothing to scoff at. For me anyway. It’s probably the most I’ve ever written in an entire day. It brings my total word count for the book up to 11,354. I was able to finish off Chapter 2 and I’m about 1,000 words into Chapter 3. My word count goal for each chapter is around 5k, with a total of at least 15-20 chapters.

It’s really been tough for me to lock away my inner editor and just simply write as the story comes to me. Especially when I get stuck at a certain point and have to think about where to take it. I typically go back a few paragraphs and re-read what I’ve written to get my creativity flowing in the right direction. That’s when my editor likes to take control and tell me, “Hey, you should word that this way!” or “That really doesn’t flow, you should change that up a bit.”

Today though, I was able to tell the little guy to shut up and let me write!

I also made a point to leave the house and go somewhere quiet – my local library. They had an awesome little cafe style room where visitors can plug in a laptop and type away. It was perfect. Too perfect. I ended up spending 5 hours there before my stomach told me I had to leave. If anyone else is also doing NaNoWriMo I highly suggest finding a place like that. It’s amazing how much I was able to write without the little distractions that normally interrupt me.

 

One last thing, thank you to everyone who viewed, shared, re-tweeted, and commented on my last post. I had no idea it would gather so much attention, but I’m glad that it was able to make people smile and maybe even motivate them for NaNoWriMo. It was amazing watching all the comments and re-tweets fly through my Twitter account. What’s really scary is now I have even more people following me. Kind of puts the pressure on to write something really good. EEP!

 

For now, I say goodnight to you all and KEEP WRITING!

2014-Participant-Facebook-Cover

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

