Free Writing

How this writer makes the best tea

I was recently asked by a friend how I make my tea. It hasn’t been the first time I’ve been asked, so I thought I’d make a step-by-step on how to make (what I think is) the best tea ever.

First of all, I only use Red Rose Tea. A box of 100 tea bags costs less than $3 at your local grocer, so it’s cheap enough to include in your monthly grocery budget.

I’ve tried other brands (Lipton, Tetley’s, Luzianne, etc) but they just can’t compare to Red Rose.

Ingredients you will need:

  • 1 gallon pitcher
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 Red Rose tea bags
  • Tea kettle (manual or electric – I’ve used both)
  • Water
  • Something to stir with (I use a wooden/plastic spoon)

Step One:

Fill your tea kettle with water and set on the stove to boil.

Teapot

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step Two:

While your water is boiling, turn your tap water as hot as it will go and fill the pitcher about 1/4th full. This prevents the boiling water from melting your pitcher (yes, it’s happened to me before.)

Pitcherwater

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pour 1 cup of sugar into the empty pitcher.

cupofsugar

 

 

 

 

 

Stir the sugar until it’s dissolved.

Sugarwater

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step Three:

One the water is boiling, pour into the pitcher.

fillingthepitcher

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step Four:

Immediately add the 4 bags of Red Rose tea. You can add a bit more hot tap water if it doesn’t fill the pitcher.

teabags

steeping

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step Five:

Allow to steep for a minimum of 15 min. For a stronger flavor tea, allow to steep for 20-25 min. I prefer the stronger flavor.

pouring

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Optional Step:

For a twist, add a splash of milk. I suggest using a large 32oz cup so you won’t have to refill as often. Curl up with a good book, or next to your keyboard/notepad as you write and enjoy!

enjoy

 

 

 

 

 

 

For iced tea, simply put in the fridge until chilled. It helps to give it one more stir, but not always required.

I know I may have a bunch of tea connoisseurs tell me that I’m doing it completely wrong. That I should use different tea, or pay attention to the temperature of the water. That adding hot tap water spoils the steeping process, or that I should use a different amount of bags. I never said this is the perfect way of making it. This is just how I make it.

Typically I make 4 pitchers at a time. Between everyone in my household a full pitcher will be gone before it can get to room temperature. The rest will only last a couple days in the fridge before it’s the next persons turn to make tea. We love this tea. Besides water, and the rare diet-soda, it’s all we ever drink. I know the sugar content is a tad high, but it’s better than a can of non-diet coke. If my math is correct a 12oz can of Coke has 39g of sugar, but a 12oz cup of home made sweet tea is around 20g.

You could always use less sugar, or a sugar substitute to make the sugar count even lower, but I can’t guarantee the taste if you do.

 

Feel free to comment with your own tea recipe!

Standard

Leave a Reply

