Free Writing

Get to Know Me – If You Dare.

So apparently I’ve been nominated for a Liebster award by J. at Don’t Delete Me. Interesting concept. I’ve done these kinds of things on Facebook, so why not on my blog too eh? Besides, it is a good way for you get to know a little bit about me.

The questions I’ve been given by J. are thus:

  1. What do you really think will happen if there is a Zombie outbreak? – I think more people are prepared for this than we think. I’m sure I’d be one of the first to die, simply because of where I live and my lack of appropriate weaponry at my disposal. haha It would be quite an adventure just to get to my local Wal-Mart 2 miles away to get what I need to survive. I’m definitely not emergency ready at my house. In all actuality, I think the Zombie outbreak would be more along the lines of 28 Days Later or I Am Legend (where it was a virus, not the literal walking un-dead.) This would also mean that it would be harder to survive. You wouldn’t have slow moving, mindless people stumbling around groaning at you. They would be hyper active. Super strong. They’d live on adrenaline and they’d kill you in a heart beat. They wouldn’t bother eating your brains, they’d just rip you to shreds before moving on to the next to satisfy their blood lust.
  2. If you met your idol in person, what would you do? – I have many idols. Although I don’t like the term idols, per say. I have many people I look up to and admire. I’d like to think that I would remember that they are just normal people too, but I’ve met celebrities before and the rush I get from it as well as the bumbling idiotic babble that comes out of my mouth makes me think otherwise. Were J.K. Rowling to shake my hand, I’d probably turn red and not know what to say that doesn’t make me sound like a 2 year old.
  3. If you could travel back in time, where/when would you go? – This is a tough one. Either Medieval times or the times of Jesus. Regardless of your religious views, most people do believe that Jesus was a real man. I’d have liked to meet him in person. As for Medieval times, I think I would thrive in that era. I always thought if it weren’t for the decade I was born in, I’d have been tilling the land, caring for my young, and supporting my brave, strong husband who would probably be a local blacksmith or something. I think that’s why Soul Weaver is set around that time era. I’ve always loved it.
  4. What is your favourite movie? – I don’t have just one. I have quite a few. Movies that I could easily watch over and over until I was blue in the face. “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”, “Dead Poets Society”, “Shawshank Redemption”, “Mr. Holland’s Opus”, any and all Studio Ghibli movies. ESPECIALLY the Studio Ghibli movies. If you haven’t seen at least one, I’m not sure if we can be friends. Just kidding. Not really. But kidding.
  5. What is your main goal in life? – To be happy. No really. To be happy. I don’t have some long-term life plan for myself. I tried that a long time ago, but I learned that life throws obstacles in your way that you either have to jump over (much like Mario jumping over those turtles) or choose a new path (like going through those tall green pipes to skip a few levels). Ultimately, I love my life as long as my family and I are safe, happy, and healthy. That’s all I can really ask for. It would be a bonus if I could write a few novels that sell okay-ish. And if I win the lottery, I wouldn’t complain. But I’m not putting too much stock in either of those. Hey, expect the worst and get happy surprises right? lol
  6. Do you have a pet? If so, what is it? – I have two actually. Two awesome wonderful dogs. A Shetland Sheepdog called Talia. I adopted her from my local Humane Society. She’s a wonderful dog and I love her more than any other pet I’ve ever had. The other is an English Bulldog named Kabuki. He’s hubby’s dog. We just got him about 12 weeks ago, so still a puppy at 6 months old. I love English Bulldogs, and this one is no exception. He’s great. I love both of my four legged children.
  7. What are you most afraid of? – Losing a loved one. I know we all die eventually, but the thought of losing my mother scares me sh*tless. We just lost my grandmother recently. Death seems to throw a reality check at your face. I know my mother will die, but I can’t imagine not having her in my life. Same goes for my children. I think I would become an emotional wreck if anything happened to them. Second to that is being alone. I love my alone time, don’t get me wrong. I just don’t think I could go through life never having someone to share it with. We weren’t meant to be alone. Me especially.
  8. What is your favourite quote? – Um….I don’t really have one. Well, I suppose I do: “Do unto others as you would have done unto you.” It’s a good enough quote to live by. Basically – just be good to your fellow man. It’s amazing how relaxing life can be when you don’t stress yourself with the evil and stupid people in this world.
  9. If someone told you when you were going to die, would you believe them? If so, how would you live your life up until that final day? – No I wouldn’t believe them. No one can predict when you’re going to die. Imagine this: Random person: “You’re going to die in two weeks.” Me: “Oh yeah?” *Takes gun and blows off head* Take THAT psychic! I told you now didn’t I?! ha ha!  No, I wouldn’t believe them. Besides, we should all try to live every day as if it were our last. Tell those you love how you feel. Don’t sweat the small stuff. Be the person you want to be.
  10. What do you think the meaning of life is? – This is going to sound corny as all get-out: love. Even the most evil of us love someone. Love gives us powers we had no idea humans could be capable of. I feel like Dumbledore here, but it’s true. The love of her child can give a woman super human strength to lift a car to save her baby. It can create entire worlds. And it can destroy them. Christianity believes that God is Love. That may very well be true.
  11. Are you wondering why there are 11 questions for everything and not an even number like 10 or 12? – Nah, I’m used to odd things like that now. 🙂

Here are 11 additional facts about yours truly and if you participate these are my questions for you:

  1. What do you like least about yourself? – My laziness. I really should get out more. Maybe work out. Ride my bike cross country. But sometimes it’s really hard to push myself.
  2. What element do you feel most connected with? I absolutely LOVE the water. Inside of me is a mermaid screaming to be let out. If I had gills, I’d live underwater for life. I love it.
  3. If you could go anywhere, where would you go? If I could visit any country in the world it would probably be Great Britian and Ireland. My ancestry dates back to Scotland, and I’ve always loved England. I’d probably live there if I could and I envy those who do. That’s pretty much why my novel is set in aland much like Ireland.
  4. Have you tried sushi? I have tried sushi and I love it. Sorry, but I’m not sorry. 🙂
  5. What’s the first thing you notice about people? Their eyes. They say that eyes are the window to the soul. I think it may be true. You can learn a lot about someone by their eyes.
  6. Would you rather be hated or forgotten? Forgotten. Most certainly. I strive my best to be a good person. I’d hate to have people hate me. lol Don’t we all crave love? lol
  7. If they were to make a movie about your life, who would you want to play yourself? – Hermione Granger. Not the actress, the character. I think she’s a wonderful character. You could say I look up to her.
  8. What is your favorite food? – Probably pizza. I eat it way too often. It’s convenient and has all your basic food groups. There are thousands of different ways to eat it. It’s a lovely food, so why not be my favorite. I also love Chinese food and Italian food. Oh, and tea of course. Does that count as food? lol
  9. How do you feel about your age? – Had I been asked this question when I was 29 I would have said I’m terrified. I dreaded turning 30. To me, 30 was like reaching a point in your life where you can’t fix your mistakes anymore. Where you’re suddenly old. Where people start looking at you as if you’re not worth as much because your life span is that much shorter. Now that I’m 32, I love my age. I feel like my 20’s were the best time to make mistakes and now that I’m in my 30’s I’ve learned that just because I’m older, doesn’t mean I have to feel older. I still feel like I’m 19 sometimes. Especially around my family. But I think I’ve learned that life can be awesome at any age.
  10. What is your favorite color? Blue. More of a blue green actually. Like an aqua. I’ve always loved blue even as a toddler (I have proof!) lol
  11. How hard was it to find 11 questions to ask yourself? – Very. I had to do a Google search to come up with questions to answer about myself. I’m a sad person, I know.

 

If you’d like to participate here are the rules:

RULES:

  1. The nominated user must provide a link back to the person who nominated them
  2. Provide 11 facts about yourself.
  3. Answer 11 questions set by the person who nominated you.
  4. Choose 11 more people and ask them 11 questions.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

