Uncategorized

Is This Writer’s Block?

 

 

I saw this tweet today by one of my favorite people to follow and I thought it was a great idea.

I’m stuck. Really stuck. I’ve only managed to write around 1,000 words over the past two weeks because of how stuck I am.

It’s not writer’s block…..per say….I think….maybe…

It’s not knowing where to go with the scene I’m currently writing. I’ve created a situation where I have no idea how to go about it. My characters are about to go through a pretty heart-wrenching scene, where one of the main characters is going to learn a lot, and it’s a pivotal point that will change where the story is going.

The problem I’m running up against is my ignorance of tactics. Military tactics, stealth tactics, and how my characters will handle the situation they’ve been put in. I have no idea how to go about it.

I know what I need to do is probably draw a map or something so I have a visual of what’s going on. It would make it easier to see exactly what steps they should take.

Or maybe I should just skip ahead and write the next scene (or chapter) and come back to it later. The only issue I have with this is that I’m pantsing right now. I haven’t drawn out any sort of plot map and my writing so far as been linear. I don’t know how well I would do with skipping this part.

This is one of those times where I need to bounce some ideas off of someone.

Or maybe I should start plotting. Not sure if that would help though.

Maybe I should write a bit of flash fiction and take a break from Soul Weaver for a bit. Recover a bit more from Camp WriMo.

Maybe I should read….that might spark some ideas. *sigh*

In the meantime, I’ve been working on designing a website and practicing on the guitar. I need to clear my mind.

What do you do when you’re stuck like this?

Standard

4 thoughts on “Is This Writer’s Block?

  1. angiedet says:

    I skip ahead to the next scene I’m ready to write. I’ve been known to put big brackets in the middle of a page with [YOU HATE THIS NOW BUT IT WILL BE EASIER LATER] inside and move on. It works for me, helps take the self-imposed pressure off a bit. I’m sure for some it wouldn’t work. I find it easier to go back and fill in the gap, no matter how large, than to strain over one section for too long until I’m frustrated.

    Best of luck getting past your sticky spot.

    Like

    • I am seriously debating skipping ahead. I managed to throw some ideas off of hubby last night and I think I may have enough material to wing it until it’s time to go through and edit. We’ll see.
      Thanks!

      Like

  2. Rhea says:

    This is happening to me too! Ever since Camp ended, it’s become increasingly difficult to sit down, concentrate and write anything more than 300 words a day. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one here. Maybe I’ll just take a break and read and try my hand at Flash Fiction. *sigh*

    Like

    • I feel the same way. I almost want to do another Camp WriMo just to have something to “force” myself to write again.
      I heard there’s one starting in June or July….. lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

